• May 08, 2024, 06:27:28 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: SR/F traction control experiences  (Read 1129 times)

Tony_

• View Profile
SR/F traction control experiences
« on: April 12, 2020, 03:51:58 PM »

MC season is just starting in Norway, so I only have gotten a few rides from my new SR/F, which is an upgrade from my previous 2016 DSR.

One of the reasons I got the SR/F is that I wanted traction control, since I experienced a few situations with my DSR where I accelerated faster than what the surface would allow, and feeling the back wheel wander off on its own was pretty scary. I would generally use ECO mode during rain to compensate, but I got caught off guard even on non rainy days, for example on tram tracks, spills or wet leaves.

I have no experience with TC though, and instead of experimenting and learning by mistakes I am curious to hear what the real life experience of the community here is. How effective is TC? Will it be able to react fast enough to avoid slipping on wet surfaces when maxing out acceleration? And what are the practical impacts of the various TC modes. Will "sports" TC be useless on a wet road for example, meaning you will need to set it on the dedicated "rain" setting?

Any others here made the jump from DSR to SR/F? I also wonder how the wider tire on the SR/F would affect road grip in comparison. I'd assume it will give you a better grip, but it also has a flatter tire pattern and a rounder shape, so I am not sure how it sums up.

EDIT: I should point out that I am wondering about the effect of changing TC and not the riding mode. For example, in Sports riding mode you can set three traction settings: Street, Sport, or Rain.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2020, 10:54:50 AM by sinsro »

stevenh

• Newington NH
    • View Profile
Re: SR/F traction control experiences