• May 14, 2024, 04:57:55 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Newbie Problem with New 2017 FXS  (Read 805 times)

Rule10b5

• View Profile
Newbie Problem with New 2017 FXS
« on: August 20, 2018, 09:41:42 PM »

Hi, I'm sorry if this is a dumb question, but even though I've been riding motorcycles for going on 30 years (and doing most of my own mechanical work) I'm really new to electric vehicles.  So please forgive me.

Anyway, I bought my first, a 2017 Zero FXS 6.5 Modular on August 10, 2018.  It is the most amazing riding experience I've ever had.  But anyway, when I got home I installed the Zero application on my phone, and saw that the bike needed an update, and it had to be done by a dealer. 

So I called the dealer, took it in on August 18, 2018 (I was at around 600 miles on the bike) and they did the update and commissioning.  They said everything looked great.  I got the bike home, charged, etc. did a little housecleaning, an then went out for errands.  Parked it for a couple hours (plugged in), came out, fired it up and rode home with no problems.  I realized, on the way, that I needed to make an additional stop at a drug store.  So I stopped, bought what I needed, came back out.  Kickstand up, kill switch in run position, turned ignition on.  Little green "on lamp" showing.   Turned the throttle (or is it called a rheostat in this context?) and nothing happened.  No flashing lights or anything.  The bike just didn't "go."  I turn it off and on a few times, baffled that nothing is happening.  So I change the display to show error codes.  0000 displays.  So I do another full restart.