• May 04, 2024, 09:06:34 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: 2015 Zero SR 12V accessory socket install  (Read 988 times)

JediLeba

• View Profile
2015 Zero SR 12V accessory socket install
« on: September 12, 2018, 11:11:55 PM »

I bought my 2015 Zero SR a few weeks ago, and my dealer wants $122 (out-the-door price) to buy and install the 12V accessory socket. The part on Zero’s site says $50, and my dealer says 30min for installation. My question is: if I just buy the part through the dealer, is installation really very difficult? I’m not a mechanic, but I feel fairly comfortable about looking at assemblies and being able to figure stuff out. Is the socket install just a plug’n’play item, and then securing the wiring against movement?

I’d like to save the ~$50 of the installation cost if I can do it myself. Also, would the socket be a generic device that I could get elsewhere for less? I sort of don’t think Zero could have a proprietary 12V socket that is required for their bikes.

https://www.zeromotorcycles.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=15_5&products_id=206&zenid=3od3o7p0uron06gv12a8sv9ro4

ashnazg

• View Profile
2015 Zero SR
2015 Zero FX (previous bike)
2011 Zero XU (previous bike)

Doug S

• View Profile
Re: 2015 Zero SR 12V accessory socket install
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2018, 02:13:00 AM »

My only issue with installing mine was getting any sort of tool up into the cavity on the backside to secure the large nut -- it's almost inaccessible. My longest-nosed pliers sort of did the trick but I had (have) no confidence in how tight I managed to get it. I've toyed with 3D printing up a tool to do precisely that job, now that I have my 3D printer, but it's been installed for a couple of years now and it hasn't come loose, so....eh.
There's no better alarm clock than sunlight on asphalt.