• May 08, 2024, 08:45:54 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Series hybrid powertrain using Zero motors  (Read 1288 times)

ReverseTrike

• View Profile
Series hybrid powertrain using Zero motors
« on: December 13, 2013, 04:54:26 AM »

I am an aerospace engineer and all these new electric motor developments are a complete game changer for General Aviation(GA) and I want to explore their use to replace the current 80 year old ICE. The batteries are bottleneck for range so let me go straight to the point:

For a Series hybrid (like here http://www.siemens.com/innovation/en/news/2013/e_inno_1318_1.htm) Firewall forward(FWF) for a GA aircraft(in range of~60HP-80HP) the power train is as follows assuming 90% best case efficiency of all components that are all off the shelf,

ICE->75-5motor@90%->Controller(size4)@90%->Battery@90%->Controller(Size6)@90%->75-7motor@90%----->Propeller

or
ICE--[blackbox @ 59%]----->Propeller

So, I have lost >40% of my engine efficiency even without seeing the prop  >:(
   1. Is there a better path of doing this without going the way of parallel hybrid?
   2. I am looking at the Generac & Aixro (35hp continuous) as the engine choice so the motor/controller should be able to hold that much power for regen?
   3. Can I run the 75-5 motor in regen mode to recharge the batteries rather than redoing the controller? Basically I want to use the FX motor as an alternator for a geneset(range extender) that is directly connected to the PTO end of the ICE.
   4. Can I go around the batteries and directly power 75-7 motor rather than charging the batteries in cruise and use the batteries only for take off & climb?