• May 14, 2024, 08:10:35 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Opening the throttle -> losing control?  (Read 3713 times)

ChainGun

• View Profile
Opening the throttle -> losing control?
« on: October 18, 2016, 04:54:00 PM »

I purchased my Zero S exactly one year ago and have rode about 18K kilometers on it. I love every aspect of it except the situations when it tries to kill me. Over the time I noticed several occasions when I was opening the throttle in Sport mode and started losing grip on the rear wheel. One time when the road was wet I actually lost control and crashed but in other situations the road was dry and I managed to re-gain control. I've been riding for 26 years, this is hardly my first bike but all of my former bikes were heavy V-twins (Suzuki VX-800, Suzuki V-Strom, etc) and this is probably the first time I'm riding such a light and fast motorcycle.

What do you think: Is this a "Zero problem" or a "light and fast motorcycle problem"? Do others here encounter this problem as well? Am I doing something wrong (i.e. opening the throttle in Sport mode isn't a good idea) or is there a problem with the bike?

guppie70

• View Profile
Re: Opening the throttle -> losing control?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2016, 06:37:39 PM »

I have taken the Zero SR on a test drive, and was actually stunned that you do not get any "modern" driving aids besides ABS for the price you have to pay for the bike. You would expect that at least traction control would be relatively easy to add since the whole bike is electrical to begin with.
I feel that they have smoothened out the throttle response, in order to keep things easy to control and avoid a lot of accidents. This is probably one of the reasons why the bike won't wheelie (or at least not using the throttle alone).