• May 08, 2024, 05:09:43 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: What about Motors/controllers/sprockets  (Read 1378 times)

springwhit

• View Profile
What about Motors/controllers/sprockets
« on: September 27, 2009, 02:12:17 AM »

I am brand new to the electric motorcycle world..  I am embarking on restoring a 1973 BSA.  I would like to be able to have a range of 40 - 50 miles @ 50 - 60 mph.  What size motor do I need? Batteries? controller? chain sprokets size?  Where can motors and controllers be purchased.  Any and all advice and knowledge regarding what i need to power the old beezer with eletricity would be welcomed.  I am not new to motorcycles, having ridden nearly 400,000 miles in all lower 48 stats over the past 40 years.  I just have this old BSA in my garage with a worn out motor and have been increasingly interested inwhat's going in electric world.  Thanks

frodus

• View Profile
Re: What about Motors/controllers/sprockets
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2009, 08:56:35 AM »

lifepo4 for sure

an etek rt/perm or agni motor (or advanced DC series wound, D&D sepex or AC motor/controller)

any series wound motor controller (or sepex/ac if thats the motor type you use)

sprocket size depends on accel you need, 5:1 to 6:1 ratio.
Travis

springwhit

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2009, 03:35:26 AM »

I am still a little ignorant about hp versus volts.  Seems I need something around 75 volts?

frodus

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2009, 06:54:15 AM »

hp is based on torque and RPM

torque = current
RPM = voltage

so for what you need 72V sounds like a good start (just a standard number used in lots of controllers, battery packs, BMS, chargers).
Travis

mKlRivPwner

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2009, 09:17:38 PM »

Welcome!