• May 04, 2024, 03:27:36 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: My Zero SRF experience with 6.500 km since September (so far)  (Read 5543 times)

Hans2183

• View Profile
My Zero SRF experience with 6.500 km since September (so far)
« on: December 12, 2019, 04:00:56 AM »

Quickly my background: I started riding to filter traffic during my 110km (highway) commute with a 2005 BMW R1200RT that I bought second had with 70.000 km done, added another 70k. Replaced that with a BMW R1200 GS LC 2016 model bought new with now just below 70k of riding done. I had a Triumph Street Triple for fun (mostly weekends). This summer I traded that Triumph for a red SRF premium delivered to me in August. Started actually riding it daily in September. The RT was sold when I bought the GS. The GS I still keep for longer distance (travel).

I ordered that SRF after test riding it in June. It was more comfortable to ride than the Street Triple and the electric way of riding without clutch made it easier to handle and ride than the GS for daily commutes. Obviously the GS has more protection against weather and a more relaxed and upright position. So far I've only used the SRF for commutes and very short fun rides. With another newborn I just don't find the time to go out that much.

It did great for the first 6.000 km in all kind of weather. I love how easy filtering through traffic at low speed is with this bike. And even handling standing next to it (parking) it feels lighter than the GS. In theory it should weigh the same but I guess the GS has more height and therefor feels more tippy. I really like being back on 2x 17" wheels since that is so much better on tarmac which I ride most of the time. The GS isn't bad but you feel that the steering is lighter and it's all just less planted.