• April 27, 2024, 03:57:46 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: I'm New Here  (Read 1666 times)

mKlRivPwner

• View Profile
I'm New Here
« on: September 16, 2009, 08:25:20 PM »

Hey everyone.  I'm new to EV's and Motorcycles.  Although I'm been working mechanically on cars for more than 15 years.  That's quite some time considering I'm 25.  I decided to build my own Electric Motorcycle as both a Commuter Vehicle and a Fun Ride.

My goals:
80 mph top speed (Freeway usable, not just feasible)
125+ mile range on a full charge
72 Volt AC Motor
Shaft driven
< $7,500 Including the donor bike

I have no problems with the "traditional" modifications (frame, gearing, parts mods, even the fiberglass bodywork), but I'll need some help with the electrical aspects.  Specifically, I'll need suggestions on what components to look for.

frodus

• View Profile
Re: I'm New Here
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2009, 11:04:43 PM »

125miles is going to be damn near impossible with your budget. For 125 miles range, and a 125wh/mile average (which is average for most electric motorcycles), you'd need 16-17kwh onboard. IF and I REALLY MEAN IF you could even FIT all those batteries in the motorcycle (which would also be damn near impossible), it'd cost you at the very least 8grand for batteries that have a low volume/high energy density. Thundersky batteries won't cut it, and neither would headways. You'd have to get something like Kokam Lithium batteries, and they're not cheap.

(note: I worked on the MotoCzysz E1pc motorcycle project and we had a really really hard time fitting in ~15kwh of batteries in the motorcycle, and it was NOT cheap and it was very complicated).