• April 25, 2024, 12:22:56 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Tank grip locations  (Read 719 times)

Crissa

• Centauress
    • View Profile
Tank grip locations
« on: January 14, 2020, 06:34:32 AM »

So Zero doesn't seem to be selling them anymore, somI'm getting generic ones.

I'm wondering on placement, though.  It seems that the frame bar under the tank is where my knees spend most of their time for gripping, so I think I should put some there.

I'm new at this, so I'm open to input.

-Crissa
2014 Zero S ZF8.5

BrianTRice@gmail.com

• Unofficial Zero Manual Editor
  • Nerdy Adventurer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
Re: Tank grip locations
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2020, 06:48:42 AM »

How do you know Zero doesn't sell them any more? Here's AF1 Racing's listing for the TechSpec fitment for the S/SR:
https://www.af1racing.com/store/Scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=92940&sku=ZM10-08125&description=Zero+MC%27s+Tank+Grips+by+Techspec+S%2FSR+%2D+ZM10%2D08125

PN: ZM10-08125 for the S/SR
Current: 2020 DSR, 2012 Suzuki V-Strom
Former: 2016 DSR, 2013 DS

BrianTRice@gmail.com

• Nerdy Adventurer
    • View Profile
    • Personal site
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2020, 06:50:04 AM »

Generally, any tank grips should be applied on the rear sides of the tank. Zero S/SR and DS/DSR tanks have obvious flat areas right there where the TechSpec grips apply.

Before that fitment existed, I bought BMW R1200GS tank grips and cut them to fit my DSR.

Crissa

• Centauress
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2020, 07:54:48 AM »

Because when I searched parts on AF1, those didn't show up.

Also, my knees don't completely reach the curve of the tank.

-Crissa
2014 Zero S ZF8.5

TheRan

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2020, 09:19:03 AM »