• April 26, 2024, 04:01:19 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: How hard to install SR/F Rapid Charging System  (Read 684 times)

fredx

• Boulder, CO
    • View Profile
How hard to install SR/F Rapid Charging System
« on: February 12, 2020, 04:15:21 AM »

So...  I have a deposit down on a 2020 SR/F Premium, and anticipate delivery any day now.   8)

I have in mind to add the Zero Rapid Charging System (aka Charge Tank) to this bike, for 12kw charging where available.  I found one available used at a mild discount, having been removed from another SR/F very early in its life.  I'm tempted to buy it, but it comes without instructions.  I'm not an expert mechanic, but I'm reasonably good with wrenching and wiring.  My question is, how difficult is the installation?  How obvious will it all be?  Can I just figure it out pretty easily?

Also, is any firmware update or reconfiguration of the bike required when installing this?

Thanks!  I'm sure looking forward to this bike.  :D
2020 Zero SR/F Premium, 12kW Dub-J charging (disappointed; sold)
2015 Yamaha Super Tenere ES
2013 Zero FX ZF5.7 (sold)

Auriga

• View Profile
Re: How hard to install SR/F Rapid Charging System
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2020, 09:55:41 AM »

The SR/F is a lot of fun, Congratulations.

The short answer is nobody really knows(outside Zero, and Zero only supports dealer installs). A couple people here have them, but nobody has tried to install it outside of a dealer. It's just too new. I'd also be extra certain you're talking about a Zero Rapid Charging System(charge tank) for the SR/F and not a 6kW charge tank, which is similar but entirely incompatible and far more common.

Unless you feel like tinkering and potentially voiding your warranty, I'd let the dealer do it.

fredx

• Boulder, CO
    • View Profile