• April 26, 2024, 07:07:51 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: First time rider, looking to get a Zero DS, i have a question...  (Read 868 times)

Gmaskell6809

• View Profile

Hello all, I hope this finds you well.

Forgive me for anything that may sound stupid. I’m still learning about evokes and bikes in general.
I’m 28 yrs, 5’ 9” 165# if that helps anyone.
Firstly, I’m interested in the DS because it’s reliable, doesn’t need gas, i will be using it as a commuter.
I understand that with anything there will be a learning curve, however i think i want to purchase this bike because it has the custom setting. As you know can adjust top speed and torque percent.

That leads me to my question, is it possible to set the torque settings to simulate, say a 250 - 500 CC gas bike in power, etc. allowing my to purchase one bike and still be able to grow with it. Yes i know it will be on its side at times, which i think would be better than for a gas engine, because it wouldn’t have the oil intrusion or other broken things, potentially. Also the DS shows its about 350# which seems more manageable than other “beginner” bikes. I wouldn’t want anything less than 500-650cc if i were to get a gas bike.

Has anyone worked out what torque percentages would be to equate to other bikes engine sizes, or am i off base thinking about it that way?

I live in Southern California, if that matters.

Thank you for any and all help.
I’m still shopping for bikes, but i like the sound of this potential option that can be customized to grow with me.

I have driven manual cars and an ATV, but that was a long time ago.

motorrad36

• View Profile
Re: First time rider, looking to get a Zero DS, i have a question...
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2020, 12:51:23 AM »

Welcome to EMF!