• June 08, 2024, 08:45:11 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Electric Motorcycle Forum is live!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Are Zero Motorcycles Crash Prone Due to Lack of Traction Control?  (Read 4819 times)

Jarrett

• View Profile

Hello, newbie here, first post.

I went to the local IMS bike show last weekend and saw Zero motorcycles.  Then went and test rode a DS and FX yesterday.  I was very impressed with them.  Their torque numbers are higher than my Honda Africa Twin CRF1000L and I felt the acceleration is on par with it.  I really liked that.

But my Africa Twin has traction control to keep that amount of acceleration in check.  Specifically, if I go around a corner and give it too much throttle and the rear tire spins and loses traction, the on-board traction control will kick in and save me from crashing.

So my first thought when looking at the Zero motorcycles is that they have more available torque than my Africa Twin and makes that torque much more quickly than my Africa Twin will, but has no safe guard against spinning the wheel out from underneath me even on a dry, paved corner.

In a quick search about Zero motorcycles, I've already seen discussions of surprise lowsides that experienced riders have encountered that may have been related to this.  In fact, I read an unsubstantiated report of the Zero CEO crashing under similar circumstances. 

I'm wondering, is this issue real?  On every model?  And how prevalent is it?

caza

• View Profile
Re: Are Zero Motorcycles Crash Prone Due to Lack of Traction Control?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2019, 09:02:11 PM »

I've seen these discussions as well.

My take is it's just like ABS. You don't NEED ABS, but it's a nice safety feature to have.